Looking back on 2012.

Looking back on 2012:

I wish.  that I could say.  that I had amazing experiences in 2012.  But instead I’m going to tell you the truth.  The messy beautiful truth of what my year was like in 2012.

1.  I read books.  For the first time in a few years, I actually read quite a few books.  All the way through.  And I’m really proud of this.  I read Dive from Clausen’s Pier, by Ann Packer, and it…in a way…really validated me and brought me joy.  I read The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Nighttime.  I read Page By Paige.  I read The Bedwetter by Sarah Silverman.  I read M is For Magic, by Neil Gaiman.  In 2013, I want to continue reading.  Not to sound like a dork or anything, but reading transports me to new places.  Places that I want to be.  I love to read.

2.  In early December, Late November, I purchased some supportive / therapy CDs on social anxiety.  I have to be honest: I have been slacking.  I don’t want to slack.  I want to listen to those CDs.  I think they are really good, so far.

3.  I stayed at my job.  I have now been there for a little over 2 years.   And I am ready to leave it, lol.  Maybe that will come in 2013,  I hope it does.  Because its gotten to the point where it’s soul sucking.

4.  In October, I got back onto facebook, after being off it for 10 months.  I guess it’s OK.  I just use it for what it is, to connect with old friends.  Lately I have been on it everyday, and it’s pretty fun actually, lol.  I just have to be careful.  I have to use it in moderation and not get too wrapped up.

5.  I became good friends with an ex.

6.  I discovered new music.  I danced.  I joined things (and quit things – I am working on that).  I drew  pictures, I think I found my medium.  I painted.  I took many road trips.  I did pen pal coaching.  I bonded with my family.  I came out of my shell.  I gained weight.

 

Here’s to 2013.  To not being hard on myself.  For acceptance, gratitude, and self care.  To more pen pal coaching.

Leave a Reply

